Friday, December 31, 2010

A Round Trip on the Last Day




On the last day of year 2010, my hubby decided to bring me to “Circle” – a round-shaped (thus its name) park which always been a landmark of Quezon City because of its MLQ (Manuel L. Quezon) mausoleum tower. We used to visit this park often when we were just friends, but lately, or I guess it’s better to say since we got married, we hardly come around because of busy work schedules, lack of interest, and also we preferred to do our bonding moments at home (*wink* lolz!). Okay, so we went there - to our old dating venue. Returning to this place after quite a long time makes me reminisce that it’s a haven for us when we were just starting to build our own dreams together. (Uh-huh.)

Relatively, a lot of changes happen to this place. Using the underpass which built, I guess 2 years ago – a project of the former mayor of QC, Sonny Belmonte; we cross from Philcoa to the park’s premise. Walking to the dimly, golden litted underpass which apparently gives the impression of classiness, we saw the halogen-illuminated posters which summarize the history of QC from the Spanish era to the present times. The well-designed streamers also showed the struggles of the “Quezonian” for its freedom. The queue of picture-decors hanging on the wall also exhibits the past and the present Governors and Mayors of the city, as well as the park’s highlights. It’s so nice to stroll and take pictures, as we did while learning the city’s history!
Going upstairs, you’ll see the wonderful fountain! Although we didn’t see the drama of its multi-colored lights since it is a daytime, I already saw it multiple times as I'm going home from work.  It is such an attraction!

Walking our way to the center of the park which is the tower itself, we saw some bazaars selling shirts, Christmas presents, accessories, etc. which costs cheaper than those merchandise sold in “We’ve-Got-It-All” big air-conditioned stores. Other stalls were offering the comfort of their chairs while selling foodstuff for those who are tired and want to have some break from their stroll and needed some energy-boost for their walking exercise. I remember some scenes on those Korean dramas where the heartbroken lead drowning their sorrows in soju on those streetside food tents (pojangmacha). You could picture the same blanketed-roof as it is, tables and chairs, except that they’re not offering “soju” or beer to their patrons. Lol.

Together with me and my hubby is my youngest brother, B. I told them that we can take a tour inside the mausoleum for free. I was thinking of that because we (referring to my classmates) did it during our high school days. Passing through the soaring tower, we did our “thing”. Selfie, posing, selfie, posing, and all that, forgetting my first plan to make a tour inside the mausoleum.

Momentarily, we saw the “Circle of Fun.” It is a theme park inside a park actually, which offers different rides, arcade fun, games and amusement. We wanted to wander inside but the park’s schedule didn’t allow us. They are closed on December 31, so we just satisfied ourselves with a bunch of photoshoots. Many people were also just taking pictures of the rides outside since they can’t go in like us. Maybe they were thinking of enjoying the last day of the year on an amusement park, but unfortunately they can’t. I feel sorry for them, too.

Then, here comes the playground. This is way better than before. More swings, see-saws, and slides for the kids and for the kids-at-heart to enjoy. More tables and chairs for the picnickers and passers-by - a whole lot more perks to enjoy bonding with our family! For those who are jaded of walking around, they offered a wide selection of bicycle, from young ones to “young-once” type, single and pedicab-sort of bikes. And for those who are too languid to prepare and bring provisions, you can try the restaurants within. You might want to choose from Max’s, Mang Inasal, or a Tropical Hamburger to name some, depending on your taste and your budget.

Our trip is really great! I enjoyed it! And I wish we could go back there more often. The place is also perfect for those who wants nature-tripping for the place has a lot of trees. Or maybe you’re looking for a serene place for your yoga practice. You just have to find an ideal spot, maybe a less population, for you.

Thursday, December 30, 2010

2010 Review



A day from now and the year 2010 is waving goodbye. This year’s a good one for me. Good? Well, actually, good is a flimsy word to use, so I’ll use the words “enjoyable, fruitful, and a truly memorable year.” And why is that? Here are the reasons why.

Lately, I’ve been acquainted again to my long lost relatives and friends. I met and had some chat with my Aunt B (my “neighbor” in my “own city,” lolz!) whom introduced me to his son, MK, which eventually added to my friends in FB. Last night, I also got to yak with my cousin, JC on which I never had been any talk for years,  I guess more than a decade ago. I also got some bonding moments with my cousin, Ate C when she visit me here in my house before she flew back to Japan. I also met and added some new friends in FB. Some were from my kpop communities, minoz and hyunnies too! Some were old friends, like FO and SB (my HS classmates & also FASJAM too). How I wish our high school group had a reunion next year.

On this year, one of my dreams came true. My angel visited me. Kim Hyun Joong came here to visit me. Nah, all his fans including me (Lol!). I know someday he’ll be back to be with me again! (adik talaga, ‘no!). On this year also happened the confirmation that his brothers, Sweet Kyu and Cutie Saengie, will be holding their first fanmeeting with their Triple S fans here in the Philippines next year. Whoa! Only two weeks ago there’s a rumor, well, it’s not rumor anymore ‘coz of a photo, a proof that they really visited Cebu and they actually tweeted it too. These two came here for some photoshoots. Their solo activities - I preferred to use that term instead of “disbandment” ‘coz I believe the latter doesn’t exist for SS501- is I guess, some kind of a blessing in disguise. Because of that, they made it possible to come, perform, and mingle with fans here although not as a group. I remember Leader KHJ promised that he will come back here again, together with his other brothers, the whole SS501. He’ll include the Philippines in their next Asian Tour. Hope it will happen soon!

I also expanded my k-pop interest this year. I met my 2nd and 3rd angels, i.e. Jang Geun Suk and Lee Min Ho, respectively. I watch quite a lot of k-dramas this year, both through Viikii streaming and DVDs, not to mention the ones I watch on TV, a truly k-drama addict, huh! At present, I am watching the latest drama of Lee Seung Ki, a rom-com titled “My Girlfriend is a Gumiho”. This is also one of the cute and funny drama I’ve watch so far! My brother who’s not really a k-drama fan enjoyed watching it too.

I also learned how to read Hangul characters, understand some Korean phrases, and of course, singing their songs, which I always do!

On this year, I learned many things, especially on myself. I get to know my own self more than ever. And it feels overwhelmingly good to know, that now I can say or write a simple definition of what kind of person I am. Sometimes, it takes a same person as you to understand and to know who you really are. And by carefully watching how she does a thing or how she react on something, you feel the connection, and then you would say, “Yes, I would do that too" or "That’s definitely me!” Now, I guess I was more matured, stronger, and I think I already learned from my past mistakes.

Now that’s it! Another year is passing again and 2011 is coming our way. I’m just hoping the following year may bring more happiness to me, to all my loved ones, and to all the people in the world. May Year 2011 be as fruitful, as prosperous, as enjoyable as 2010 or even more! Annyeong haseyo, 2011!

Sunday, October 10, 2010

10.10.10 Thoughts



I remember one quote about life. It says, “Life if a continuous process of learning.” Very true! And for me, some of the most important things cannot be learned on school alone. Some valuable things can be learned on a daily basis, when you’re walking, when reading, or even sleeping, when doing your day-to-day activities. And sometimes, you will learn it when you’re giving your complete thought on it. I mean you will only realize the lesson, when done not on the first time but when you made it many times. And sometimes, even when you do it again, and don’t even think about it and don’t give a time to ponder on it, you still don’t get the meaning or lesson it gives you.  Not until one day, when you’re tired of doing it all over again, the same old work that you do, and have your full thoughts on it, then that’s the time when you realize the meaning of it. Why did it happen, or why it didn’t happen. How’d it happen or what will gonna be happen if you don’t do what you did. All of that, then you say… “Ah, now I understand”!

One of the best assets a person should learn or should have to be successful in everything he/she will do is the ability to influence people. I should be linking this talent to being a people’s person, the ability to get along with different personality. Some person is born with it. Some learned to have it as they lived with their lives. There are people who are blessed to have been exposed to every kind of people even at young age, which gave them more edge to develop their skills on people relations. This ability is also related to having a power to convince, a good speaker, or a knack to persuade. Though this skill can be learned, some people who are not even taught how to do this, has been naturally been born with it. 

I also believed that what you are at present are the results of your past experiences. Yes, the cause and effect theory. Or I must say, the cause and consequence theory. How you reacted on a certain things is based on what they have taught you, or what have you learned on the past. When you are taught to be silent, I mean to shut up, even when you have to say, or when you know that you’re right -  later on, when you run into this same kind of situation, you can’t help but to shut up ‘coz this is what they have taught you. They haven’t taught you how to voice out your opinion, they haven’t taught you how to fight for your right, and they haven’t taught you how to show your emotions, even you anger, the right way. Not until you learned that it’s is not enough to be silent when you have to fight, when you learned that being angry when you have to is not a bad thing, and when you’re tired to being on one corner and just do what they say. That’s when you want to say, “I have a dream and I want to achieve it. I want to be a somebody too!”

Sunday, September 12, 2010

An Affair to Remember



“I guess it’s for my own goodness. You came to me at the wrong time, the time when someone already owns me. I can’t be owned by two entities. There’s always one that must be sacrifice for the sake of the other one. I tried to be there for you, I gave you most of my time. Even while doing other things, you’re always the one that I think of. Maybe because just a simple thoughts of you makes my day complete. You gave me hope whenever life’s giving me a hard time. You’re always my sunshine everytime the rain floods my way. I’ll always reminisce our good times together. I’ll not say goodbye, ‘coz I know I’ll always find a way to be with you again. It’s really hard for me to be away with you even for a minute, but I know there will come a time that we’ll be together again. Please be patient! Just wait for me!”

I actually met him through my hubby. It was just a simple getting-to-know-you conversation. I’m not interested at first, but it’s the hubby who’s very vocal of his good qualities. He’s always telling me how he was cherished by his companion’s wife. That many people are so obsessed about him, and all that… Okay, after telling me all those “good and obsessing traits” of him, I am finally convinced and decided to give it a try.

The first “dates” were so bland, I was so confused. I can’t understand him. But still, I continue. Upon learning his cute acts, his cute stories, I’m starting to like him.

The fondness I felt for him is slowly developing. The attachment we had had grown deeper. Eventually it became affection, and finally the “obsession.” The craziness I felt for him was showing on my actions and it starting to fret my hubby. I tried to convinced myself that it was just like a “fad” that will lasts for just a short time. But until now I’m still so into him! God knows, I really tried to forget him! But I can’t. He was so “extensive” that I can’t be able to stop myself from getting jaded of him. After learning one of his “character,” here comes the other one. He’s like a computer hub that had many networks outside. It’s like the more I get to know him, the more I want him. 

I even introduced him to my friends and relatives. And, they liked him, too! See… he had a power to attract people! I don’t know what will happen next. Whew!

Sunday, June 20, 2010

First Visit


DREAM COME TRUE (6/3)

At last, he is coming! OMG! KIM HYUN JOONG is coming to Manila, and it’ll be on June 19.
He will be coming to Manila to perform on a concert with another K-pop group, BEAST. They will also be joining by our local groups, XLR8 and popgirls. They’re so lucky!

I wonder what he will perform on that night. Will he dance?! Considering his last car accident injury, I hope he’ll not force himself too much if he can’t. I think he’ll sing “gomapda”, or his version of “because I’m stupid”. I really loved these songs. Or will he sing the tracks on their latest album “destination”? Hah… whatever! I’m just glad he finally decided to visit here. Gosh, I’m so excited! 


LEADER IN MANILA (6/18)

There’s so many things that I wanted to say right now, but I was so tired to tell you all those things that made this week very thrilling, a week full of excitement.

Last week I told you that he’s coming. And now, he actually came here! Yes, it’s true! He’s finally and personally visited us here in the Philippines. I saw him in the local channels being interviewed when he arrived. Yesterday, I visited quainte501 site and found out that he’s leaving Korea for his Philippine Concert on Saturday. Saw one video of him preparing to leave on Incheon Airport at about 4pm. One comment said that it’ll take about 2-3 hrs to reach his destination. My initial reaction to this vid was, “OMG, it’s true! He’s really coming here!”

I wasn’t thinking that this “impossible” thing will really happen this fast. I learned that he’s coming here only on the last week of May. I was doubtful to that because they’ll gonna release their album “destination” this June. So I was thinking they may be busy promoting for that, and have no time travelling abroad. Earlier to this was the news that Kim Hyung Joon “Baby” will also be coming here (prior to leader) to perform together with another K-pop, U-KISS. But unfortunately, this didn’t happen maybe because they’re busy performing for their album. And that’s another reason that made me hesitate to believe that HJL will come here.

Then, after watching his vids leaving Korea to come here, I log in to tsph.com. I’ve read one TS said that he just arrived and she saw him already, and told he’s so “gwapo” in person. Gosh, he’s actually here! Seems like the whole world stops rotating for a moment! My heartbeat’s running too fast, feels like I was being chased by Jungmin (he’s a horse, didn’t he?! Jejeje!). I want to scream! I want to jump! Feels like my world is rocking to collapse! I can’t believe it… really! At last, my dream to see him “in the flesh” is finally coming true! “A demigod descends from heaven and come to Manila…” “I am breathing the same air as him…” Hahaha!!! That was the posts I read from other TS. And I can relate to that! We felt the same… I also wanted to say those things! I guess I’m crazy! Yes, I am. I “found the thing that I would want to go crazy about” (remember those JiHoo lines, :D)!

*Ooops, fan-mode! sowi :< Just give me this one, owkie! Jejeje…


CONCERT DAY (6/19)

This day marks his first live performance here in Manila. He will be showcasing his talents tonight in Araneta Coliseum, together with BEAST (also a K-pop group), XLR8 and the POPGIRLS-our local P-pop groups. They’ll have a chance to perform with the “flower boy” Yoon JiHoo.

I’m wondering what he will show us tonight. On one of his interviews, he said that we should watch him perform ‘coz he made some special preparation for this. I guess he’ll sing his acoustic version of “Nae Moriga Nabbaseo” or the “Gomapda” (*hay, long live the joongboers*). Or maybe he’ll dance his “Please be Nice to me”, or maybe the “UR Man” dance. Hah, whatever it is, I know he’ll perform well because that’s him. One thing I loved about this man is his passion for his work. He had this passion for excellence. He wants to do his work perfectly - a very professional man.


ANNYEONG, NAE SARANG (6/20)
 
I was right about the concert last night. He sang his “gomapda” song, danced his “please be nice to me”, but not the “because I’m stupid”, instead he prefers singing “haengbogiran” or “happiness” (also a BOF song). 2 out of 3, well, not bad. He made 3 solo performances last night, 4 including the “heal the world” which he sang together with the BEAST group. Many comments said that Araneta Coliseum was only filled with Leader fans (since it was flooded with sea of green lights, i.e. wandukong lights?!), and some harshly stated that if not for KHJ, they’ll not be watching the concert. Some said that GMA network failed to make enough advertising for this concert, that’s why the venue was not that full. Hah! I don’t care whatever they say, I just so glad that he came here and made us in high spirits even for just a short time. It was a great honor for us to be visited by a great man as him. 

He will be leaving today (*oh-so-sad*). I just want to thank leader for coming here. Although, our country is not that popular, not that rich, and not as great as other countries in Asia, he made an effort to visit and grace us with his performance. Just a simple act to come here is enough for me, and having a personal interaction with your fans (fanmeeting) and holding a concert here, is an added bonus. I know you’re having a hard time making decisions (the disband issues?!) on your career right now. But, I just want to say to you that no matter what happen, we will always support you. We are always on your side, whatever makes you happy, just do it!

Annyeong Leader! We will always remember and cherish the days you came here. Kamsahamnida!




Monday, May 17, 2010

POV



I’ve read on some blogs that Leader, KHJ, is somewhat going on solo on his career. I mean he will leave his group, SS501. Let me say something about this. I wanna voice out my opinion too about this issue.

My first “sightings” with leader KHJ was on BOF drama. At first, I must admit I’m not really fond of the Korean f4 at that time ‘coz for me they’re somewhat “baklushi” or may I say they had this “feminine handsomeness”. But as I keep on watching the said drama, the story as well as the characters, started to stuck on me, making me crave for more esp. the character played by khj, which is Yoon Jihoo. After watching the full 25 episodes, I began to find and search other info about khj. I learned that he has a good, or better to say, admirable, superb moves in terms of dancing, he had a cool voice, and many fans loved his 4D-ness. He started his career as a leader with SS501. Like him, I had the same first “impression” with the other boys. I don’t like them. I prefer KHJ alone, without the other SS501 members.

So I continue to “follow” him. “Following” him means viewing his earlier and recent videos, reading news and articles about him, the past and the current issues. And upon doing these things, “ss501” always comes in on the subject. It’s like a mark that’s always on him, wherever he go. (SS501 members appear both on WGM and BOF.)

Accordingly, I started to watch them altogether. That’s when I understand the reason when fans said that HJL has changed. I saw one compilation of their earlier videos showing their happy moments together. KHJ was the loudest “laugher” of them all, he ROFL, he doesn’t care what the other says, and the sound of his laugh is simply contagious. I think that’s one thing that we didn’t see on leader nowadays.

I guess it’s not for us to judge what the problem is, for we don’t know the real story behind, and what the plan of DSP Entertainment for them is. Of course, the decision to stay or to go is still on leader’s hand. But for me, I am starting to love the whole SS501, and from watching their videos, I think leader is happier when he’s with them. And as what the SS501 stands for - Five Superstars United as One Forever - I think it should remain as what it should be.

Sunday, May 9, 2010

Eleksyon 2010



Tomorrow will be our national election. I’m kind of excited & thrilled, afraid & anxious, yet happy & contented… mixed emotions. Maybe because I don’t know what will gonna happen tomorrow… We plan to go to a voting precinct tomorrow morning, and see if we can find our names on the registered voters. Actually, tomorrow is my first time to vote, that is if we are on the list. It’s my first time, and it’s automated. I’m in my 30’s yet I still have no experience in this voting process, huh! I’ve been registered before, I guess it’s already 10 years ago (if I’m not mistaken…), and from then  I didn’t use my right of suffrage. This is because I really have no one to vote… thinking that making an effort to go there, looking for the right voting precinct to vote, and just being there is a waste of time. Wasting my time and wasting the time of all the people in the precinct, ‘coz in the end there will be nothing to count from my ballot simply because we just put the word “neutral” on those printed papers. Furthermore, I’ve been always working on those days when they are holding our elections, so I’d rather not to take part on it.

But these very days, I come to think what if… What if I try this one?! Nothing to lose ‘though. I have no work this time around, ‘coz I’ve been on a vacation since April. It’s not that I’ll have to choose who I am going to vote this time. It’s just the experience that’s I want. So I’ll go.

Used this day on wandering around our neighborhood and along Ever Gotesco Mall, 'meet & greet' with my “fellow TS”, chatting over our 'princes', and singing their songs. Hahaha, one great day!